Final year of college when I decided to do something.

So in the last blog, I stopped with my second year journey. Let's jump into my third year of college when I decided to take some action. My fifth semester started and elections for the Student's Council were about to start. My teacher nominated me for the elections and I started preparing for the election campaign. To my surprise, I won the election for the Treasurer position. And my final year started with me becoming a member of the Council, which I believe was a good start. A few days after, I started my research that I should have done at the beginning of my college days only.

I was researching about all the trending technology at the time, and came across Web Development, Data Science, and a few other things that were in demand at the time. I looked at Web Development first, but then I thought I needed to be creative to design a webpage and then code the designs, which is to a limit, true but not necessary, more on that later. Then, found out that Data Science was in demand.

I liked Python at the time and started learning the basics of Python. That was when I came across a course on Udemy on 'Python for Data Science'. Since I was interested in Python, I went ahead and enrolled in that course. Completed a few modules and then, yes I lost interest. It was a little too complicated for me and everything that was being taught in the course completely went over my head.

I got a little busy with some work in college and I did not touch the course for months. I regretted enrolling in that course mainly because I paid for it and then, did not even feel like completing it just for the sake of it. But it was okay because I told myself, "At least I tried it out. I tried it out and realized that it was not for me". I believe that that is a good thing. Instead of just like that saying I do not wanna do that, I tried it out to see if I'll like it. I finished my college with absolutely no technical skills other than basic knowledge in Python, C++ and C.

After my semester exams, I was finally free to do what I want. A friend of mine was learning UI/UX. That was when I developed an interest for Web Development. Because I read that you did not have to come up with designs. UI/UX designers will give the designs to the developers and the developers have to code according to the given design, which was a big relief for me because I was not at all creative. I cannot design a webpage for good. But yes, I enrolled in a Full Stack Web Development course in Udemy by Angela Yu. More on that in the next blog.

A lot of people say, find what you are good at, discover what your interests are. I know it is not at all easy. There were days, when I thought I was not good at anything at all, technical and non-technical, which was kind of true. So, for people who are reading and are finding it difficult to discover your interests, relax a little bit, do not be so hard on yourself. If you do not know what you are good at or what you are interested in, start by trying different things out. By trying things out, I do not mean to say, go pay money on courses and see which ones are for you, no. That was a mistake that I did and I do not want you guys to do the same. Go to youtube, and start searching about all the things that are happening around you. Start learning a few things. Doing so will help you realize if you are interested in that or not. And then you will come across things that you actually find interest and you can then fully focus on that specific thing.

I hope what I said above had some value to you guys. But yea, try it out, you will at least realize what you actually wanna do. In the next blog, I will talk about how Web Development helped me out a lot.

Until then, Have a wonderful day!