College Days

Photo by Dom Fou on Unsplash

College Days

I start my college days in the computer science field with full on confidence because I was doing well in computer science during my high school. My tiny mind believed that programming was simple. I joined college and my curriculum starts with C and C++. I was performing pretty well throughout my first two semesters because I was already familiar with these languages. Then, in 2020, the pandemic struck.

Of all the things I could have done with all that spare time, such as learning a new technology, working on a few projects, or simply researching what I need to learn, I chose to simply relax instead. I was sitting around playing video games, wasting my time doing absolutely nothing productive, While some of my friends were working diligently on their projects, gaining new skills and now they're earning 26, 27 LPA CTC. Jut like that 1.5 years went by, which I still regret but there is no use crying over spilled milk.

My semester exams were around the corner and slowly India was coming back to normal. Schools and colleges restarted physical classes and I started going back to college. I promised myself that as soon as my semester exams were finished, I would start studying new languages and technologies, start working on projects, and investigate what I need to do to get a job that pays well. At this point, you guys might be wondering, my motivation has peaked, I set out to learn everything there is in this world, nothing can stop me from conquering this world, yea right nothing happened.

Exams were over and I went back to wasting time like before, having very little interest or motivation. My 2nd year of college was done and I began reading numerous stories about how difficult and competitive it is to find a good job. The anxiety of remaining at home without a job begins to grow. I had nothing in my hand to prove my skills, well I did not have any major skills only, except for basic knowledge in C, C++, Java and Python. I knew 4 different programming languages but that was not enough to land a high paying job in the IT sector.

It was in my final year of college that I started doing something to upskill myself. I will talk about what I did, which courses I enrolled in and all that in the next blog. I'll see you guys in the next one. Have a good day!