My Web Development Journey

My Web Development Journey

So exactly after 1.5 months post my final semester exams while I was sitting at home doing nothing, I enrolled myself in a Full Stack Web Development course. The course started with Frontend. I learnt HTML, CSS and then Javascript. When I started learning CSS was when I actually started actually getting interested in Web Dev. All the ways you can design an element, for example there are like 3 ways to center a div: using flexboxes, using grids and then the most basic way using margin left and right auto. I was mindblown at the things you can do using CSS.

DOM Manipulation is cool!

After HTML and CSS, it was time to learn Javascript. I learnt about the Document Object Model and DOM manipulation. When I came to know that I can target a certain element and manipulate it in whatever I want using Javascript, I was hooked. I can confidently say I was addicted to it. The course was really good too. It had projects that helped me understand the concepts better.

Work on Projects

While progressing in the course, I thought I'll work on a personal project. I jumped onto Canva and came up with a basic design to check if I was capable of it. That was when I realized, learning is one thing and mastering it is another. Unless and until you work on projects and apply what you have learnt, you are not really learning. When I was working on a project, I did not know where to start and what to do. If you want to learn something properly, working on relevant projects is the way to go.

I came across a website called Frontend Mentor that has front-end challenges for you to complete, starting from newbie to advanced. I started working on a few projects Frontend Mentor that helped me apply the things I learnt.

The only reason why I was able to land a job is because of working on projects. That is what I have to tell you guys as well. Want to get good at something? Don't stop with courses. Work on relevant projects. Only that will make you strong in things you wanna be good at. Invest and dedicate some time to upskill yourself.

Patience is key.

One very important thing you guys have to know about is patience. You will not get good at something overnight. This is something I broke my head over. Results do not come overnight. Good things take time. Work on your skills without giving up and results will come in good time.

Hope you guys got some value from this. Until next time, Good Day!